Salted Caramel Crispies

It seems like everywhere you turn nowadays there’s a newfangled salted caramel confection; example, Starbucks’ Salted Caramel Cake Pops.  Or coffee creamer; example, International Delight’s Salted Caramel Mocha.  Or concoction; example, Cold Stones’ Salted Caramel Crunch.  Salted caramel this, salted caramel that.  

So when my Aunt Sue invited Weston and I to a real life party to kick off the holiday season it was easy for me to exclaim, “Oohh goodie!!  I’ll bring Salted Caramel Rice Crispies…they’re really good!”

When, truth be told… I’ve only salted, not carameled my crispies.

Put yourself in my shoes for a moment and consider the significance of this matter.  This is the very first party (on my side of the family) that Weston and I have been invited to that 1) hasn’t been a family function, 2) that hasn’t been laced with under-aged drinkers, 3) that hasn’t been the result of a “courtesy invite.”  It is a genuine adult holiday party with h’orderves and homemade wine.  We even got a sitter for grandma if that tells you anything.  It’s legit.

I simply offered to bring the first mind-blowing thing that popped into my mind which, by default, happened to be something salted and with caramel.  Crispies!  Even if I’d never really made them before, never really had them before, never really seen or heard of them before, I was willing to bet my hat that there would be several online recipes to heed advice from.  I came across several recipes in fact, but ultimately devised my own version with pretzels and chocolate chips. (Click here for recipe.)  I practiced making them tonight (just to be safe) and they’re good. Veerry good.  Translation?  I’m in like Flynn.  Yes… I’m riding the coattails of this season’s salted caramel goodness and that my friends, is how I plan to achieve my rite of, “Parting with Adults” Passage.”

Have a great Thanksgiving if I don’t talk to you before then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Salted Caramel Crispies

  1. Mama says:

    Have fun partying with adults… Lol. I wish I could be there. As always… Be careful. No drinking and driving!!!!!!

  2. DDO says:

    is that parting like seperate or partying like having a good time? Wondering I am

Leave a Comment

