MVP; Salad Edition

Let’s talk about salads for a second.   More specifically, let’s talk about the Most Valuable Part of our salads.  But before we do, let’s make a promise.  I promise to tell you my favorite part of a salad, and if you’ve got a second, you promise to tell me yours in the comments below.  Deal?  I’d like to get some new ideas for my greens, and I know that you’ve got a second.  You wouldn’t be here if you didn’t.  It’s not exactly like visiting LifesLemons is at the top of your to-do list.  I’m quite sure.  Unless you’re some crazy insane LifesLemons Fan Club member visiting my site at the very last second just before jumping on a locomotive that’s traveling 60 miles per hour!  I get that.  In your case there’s no time for comments.  You LL Fan Club members are a crazy bunch, but aren’t the most talkative knives in the drawer.  You read my words and go on your merry way.  Which is cool too.  sal(But I’m still going to assume that if I have 45 views today and only 3 comments, 42 were from people that had just a minute because they were on the verge of hopping a train.)

Personally when I make salad I start with all of the toppings; corn, cheese, peas, chick peas, cottage cheese, Lima beans, green beans, black beans, kidney beans, Beanie Babies,  broccoli, broccoli slaw, regular slaw, shredded meat, Shredded Wheat, nuts, bolts, mushrooms, nutritional yeast,  cabbage, cucumber, celery, Fiber One, Fiber Two, onions, thumb tacks, tuna, oranges, seeds, sea salt, The Old Man and the Sea, pepper, bell peppers, pepperoni, cooked/chilled squash, cooked/chilled sweet potato, little green pimento-less olives plus the oily juice that they come in, sun-dried tomatoes, factory-dried fruit, dry your hair before going out in the cold, carrots, cauliflower, eggs (hard boiled or fried,) and avocado.  But NO black olives because that would be gross.  If you are lucky enough to have an assortment of these ingredients (something crunchy, something chewy, something soft, etc.) you’ll get so full and satisfied that you might as well forget the lettuce and dressing!  I do.  In fact, my salads normally don’t have lettuce or dressing.

So what IS the Most Valuable Part of a salad?  Most likely, it depends on the salad.  For me the answer is easy because there IS one essential element.  The bowl.  A great big gigantic bowl is crucial in order to stir everything around.  I’m talking about the kind of bowl that you mix cookie dough and meatloaf in.  Forget the tiny soup/cereal bowl, because tossing around salad ingredients takes space.  That way each bite is laced with flavor, texture, and satisfaction.

Still got a second?  What your MVP of salads?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MVP; Salad Edition

  1. Aunt mae says:

    Sorry I don’t think this salad sounds very good.

  2. Andrew says:

    I think you forgot to toss in some diced kitchen sink. My MVP is the red wine vinaigrette i make. Combine the tartness of dried cranberries with sweet dried cherries in with assorted lettuce, spinach, kale, green onion, diced orange pepper for color and that’s my go-to salad

  3. Pingback: If You Could Eat One Letter for the Rest of Your Life… | Life's Lemons

  4. Pingback: Go Bake a Salad | Life's Lemons

Leave a Comment

