Welcome to the Family Waffle Iron (aka the Latest Addition to our Cherry Pie Maker Club)

Many of us may attest to going through cooking phases, “Who wants one more cherry pie before I clean the maker for good and put it away for another year?”  After reading yesterday’s post about resisting the urge to invest in cabinet-space suckers (a technical term) you may assume that that I’m anti-small-kitchen-appliance; that I own a spatula and not much else.  There are some people, I’m sure, who would take their George Foremans to the grave with them while clutching its stupid plastic grease scraper.  But let’s be honest, there is very little that a skillet and sauce pan can not cook.  Extraneous appliances are just the cherry pie makers of the kitchen.  

DSC03932

Don’t get me wrong.  I love hovering over the hole of a dehydrator to waft its moist and fruity air during banana chip production.  And who isn’t seduced by the rumble of a long serrated knife when they’re cutting that first slice of hot bread after the loaf is wiggled free from the maker?   So I caved in to my own rule about preserving kitchen cabinet space and recently adopted a waffle iron.  I’m justifying this decision because he is small, cute, and seems easy to clean.  In the three weeks that he has been living with us, I’ve got him to make cornmeal, chocolate, pumpkin, and chocolate chip cookie waffles.  Weston and I are happy with our new little bundle of joy which is the latest addition to our kitchen’s Cherry Pie Maker Club.

What “cherry pie makers” do you have (and love) in your kitchen?  Do you randomly personify your kitchen appliances mid-blogpost and talk about them as if they’re living people?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to the Family Waffle Iron (aka the Latest Addition to our Cherry Pie Maker Club)

  1. Mama says:

    I am actually hoping your waffle maker will not be the only little bundle you and Wes give me some day…

  2. haha this is hilarious. cherry pie makers — too funny & true :]

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday Life’s Lemons | Life's Lemons

Leave a Comment

