Self-Proclaimed “To-Do List Schedule Maker”

I like making lists.  Visual persons, such as myself, just love to write everything down that they’d like to accomplish for the day, or buy at the grocery store, or better understand from their medical nutrition therapy books.  Then, we stare at the list for a long while. Which is almost as productive as doing the tasks, buying the eggs, and learning the concepts themselves.  Just kidding…staring only listhappens for a short while.  Then, I get out a fresh sheet of paper and devise a schedule.

I like making schedules too… just about as much as I like making lists- devising both for everything. Everything. Deadlines, what I need to clean, to buy, to mail, answers I need to know, where I need to go, when and how I need to do everything. Yes, everything.  When coping during busy times it’s how I stay in control, and actually see the things that need to get done and by when.  It’s how I stay on task.  It’s how I remember to feed my goldfish and how I remember that I do not have a goldfish. After reading Brian Tracy’s book to end procrastination, Eat That Frog, I learned the value of making lists, assigning time frames and tackling important tasks first.  The time spent jotting down and prioritizing to-dos is well worth the investment, because you’re more prone to stay on task rather than later wondering, “What should I be working on at the present time?  Hmmm, I think I’ll just go make a sandwich.”  Tracy has “consulted for more than 1,000 companies, addressed more than 5,000,000 people in 5,000 talks and seminars throughout the US, Canada and 55 other countries worldwide.  As a Keynote speaker and seminar leader, he addresses more than 250,000 people each year.”  Read his book if you like the topic of time and self management, otherwise just take my personal expert advice, which is listed below.  I’m a self-proclaimed, “To-Do List Schedule Maker” who has the potential to reach billions upon billions of people via World Wide Web on a daily basis.  

Personal experience reveals 2 easily made mistakes when making To-Do List Schedules:

schedule1.) Under/overestimating the amount of time that it will take to execute a task. For example, say… transit takes longer than the time allotted. Then it cuts into the next activity and the next and the next.  Might just as well toss your agenda out of the car window.  If transit takes less time than allotted, the new-found time alludes to a license to waste (time.)  Helllllo shopping.  

2.) Blatantly ignoring the pitfalls, snags, and distractions that are likely to happen when executing certain tasks.  In good conscious, for example, I simply can not write, “Study for MNT; 9am-3pm” because I’d be setting myself up to fail.  Try as I might, I will not stay focused (and retain) test materials when I study for several consecutive hours, but wouldn’t that be nice?  Six hours to committing concepts, vocabulary, and mechanisms to memory is split up into two, three, or four solid study sessions. Otherwise I get antsy, angry, then I act out and nothing productive gets done. Why do you think I’m blogging right now?  *Winky face.  Back to the books.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self-Proclaimed “To-Do List Schedule Maker”

  1. Al Bragg says:

    i lose my lists

    ________________________________

Leave a Comment

