The Warmest of Welcomes

August 22, 2013

For the first time since moving I parked my car beside the familiar lake and walked down to its waters.  Our last encounter was a chilly one, both literally and figuratively; certainly not one that I remember with great mirth.  On that day the lake and I’s time together was cut short because of its inclemency and I had left the dreary premises feeling cold and empty inside- but also foolish for honoring these emotions.

fnd logoToday was also overcast and the cool week prior prompted me to expect a reunion that would be far from the familiar embrace of the warm summer waters that I had come to expect and seek refuge in.   On the dock I kicked off my flip flops, dropped my towel and for a few solemn seconds just stared at the empty grey-green.  I sighed and then started down to the boat ramp urging myself not to have high hopes for a great swim on such a drab day in late August.  Bearable temperatures would be asking enough.  

I stepped reluctantly onto the mossy concrete slope and my feet slid beneath the glassy surface.   Moments later my ankles, shins, and knees were also engulfed.  When the water reached my waist my knees softened and I sank into the impossibly mild water.  It was not piercingly cold like I had expected.  It was warm and the lake’s way of saying, “Welcome Back.”  My limbs went limp.  I let the water draw me in.  I felt my entire body surrender to its soothing embrace.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Warmest of Welcomes

  1. Molly says:

    My drama queen. I thought Nora Roberts was writing a novel on your lemons post………ddo

  2. Molly says:

    ddo is on Mollys computer ……if she posted the comment it would have been longer with more drama……………ddo

Leave a Comment

