The Do’s and Don’ts of Garage Sale Signs

In case you haven’t noticed, I have an unusual fondness for garage sales.  Some may even call it a fetish.  Fetish, fondness, it matters not what you call this affinity which, along with my notable experience of being a High School Student Council GDL (Group Discussion Leader) on “Effective Advertising,” has led me to know a thing or two about promoting an event. 

My intense GDL research led me to discover color schemes and fonts that attract the public’s attention.  But any moron can tell you that if you make a sign in size 12, with your best impression of Chiller font and stick it on the side of a highway, I am likely to be the only freak that SLAMS on my breaks, parks my car, and runs back to read the details regarding your sale.  Not everyone is like me.  Not everyone’s heart goes a flutter at the sight of a neon sign on a sweltering summer day.  Not everyone gazes upon a handmade advertisement that looks like it was written by a crack addict and mutters, “I’ll be there.”  In other words, not everyone who may potentially come to browse your wares has my eagle eyes or my gumption.   

So it’s best to remember the three B’s when constructing garage sale signs: Big, Bold, and Blatent.  The sale’s statement needs to say when, where, and what time.  Observe.Do: Use arrows if the location is remote or in a winding subdivision. Don’t use hard to read colors.  Use colors that contrast each other, dark letters on a light background or light letters on a dark background. Do: Use flags, streamers, and balloons to intensify the message and make your sale more inviting. Don’t: post hard to read signs on a busy road.  The quicker the passing traffic, the more flashy the sign. 

Side note: Can someone please tell me why someone is trying to sell these rocks at an estate sale I recently attended?  More importantly…who would buy it? It doesn’t look like a rock-bottom price to me. And if these are indeed “valuable rocks,” why would you keep them outside for someone to steal?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Do’s and Don’ts of Garage Sale Signs

  1. sandy rhoades says:

    Molly: rocks sell for $.10, $.15 and $.20 per pound at landscape places. They can be used for landscaping. great article.

    • Molly says:

      Wow Sandy…I didn’t know. That’s crazy. Maybe $40 is a good price, I didn’t try to see how heavy it was. I didn’t pick it up, for fear that their tree ninja would accuse me of stealing. I assumed that if a family is crazy enough to sell rocks, they are crazy enough to hire ninjas who hide in trees, karate chopping garage salers who have sticky fingers. (feeling silly tonight can you tell?)

  2. Pingback: Forgoing Cherry Pie Makers | Life's Lemons

Leave a Comment

