My Many Interests

I’m a person with many interests. 

For example, I’m interested in ways that I can help to save the environment.   I’ve been known to put on a pair of rubber gloves and pick up roadside garbage when I get reeaallly bored or feel unproductive.  Feeling unproductive makes me feel uneasy and last summer I shuffled the roadside for trash like a convict three times!  This summer hasn’t been that boring, but my class just ended so that opens up a small window of time.  (Should ’ve been a bigger window… but summer classes are the worst.  It’s nearly impossible to pencil them in.) 

I’m interested in ways that I can pinch a penny.   

I’m very interested in riding my bike.   

I’m a multitasker.  So I try to combine my interests as much as possible, which makes for some pretty strange combinations.  When you combine the three just mentioned…

Behold!  Bus riding, bike riding, blond girl.  They call me cracka’ for short. 

My bike gets loaded on the front rack and I hop aboard, saving the environment and my nickles one ride at a time.  I’m in the minority when it comes to riding city busses.  But I don’t mind.  I like to challenge my character by stepping out of my comfort zone.  It makes me worldly.  It teaches me to be thankful for what I have by showing me what others may not have.   It teaches me humility.  It slows down my day.  It lets someone else do the driving.  I can do something or nothing at all and I’m not uneasy because I’m still being productive by getting to where I need to be.  It gives me a chance to watch people.   It gives me a chance to read my overdue library books or the one from last Saturday’s garage sale.  I don’t want to die being someone who was only exposed to her beaten path.  I don’t want to be shuttled around like a little princess in my private horse-and-buggy car and not at least observe other walks of life.  One hundred years from now, I don’t want to look back at our history’s photos not be involved with the times.  I want to be like this girl in the picture.  She look really happy.  She probably had many interests too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

