This Runner’s High

At some point mid-run, no matter how big of a crackhole I was before I left, I reach the euphoric state which seasoned runners may experience know as “Runner’s High” and my whole attitude is just…different.  Runner’s High, put simply is when the body is put under enough stress, in this case induced by running, that the mind reacts accordingly to reduce the painful effects of what is perceived as harmful stimuili.  It reacts by releasing pain-relieving and mood-elevating chemicals within the brain called endorphins to counteract the physical and emotional stresses of exercise.  Endorphins, morphine-like substances produced within the body, raise pain thresholds and alter the connection between mind and body during strenuous physical activity.  The person’s senses are elevated and may have feelings of extreme happiness or invincibility.

Defining the concept of “Runner’s High” is difficult and some question whether it even exists.  Medical research confirm that endorphin levels rise with exercise but because we are unable to measure how a person is feeling at a particular moment the high may be diverse, unique but ultimately undefinable.

However, it is not uncommon for me to send Weston, Mason, my mom, and my dad (if he wasn’t technology challenged) picture messages of me while I believe that I am under this illusive influence.  Whether you believe the “Runner’s High” experience or not, see for yourself each image that clearly shows me; sweaty and higher than a friggin’ kite sporting a mile-wide smile that says, “today’s-run-jarred-a-few-screws-loose-because-I-cannot-produce-faces-like-this-without-being-ON-SOMETHING!” Since I know that Lemons readers visit the site to see high quality pictures of my phone pictures, I figured that they were worth sharing.  Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Runner’s High

  1. Cara says:

    Oh Molly, I miss your outlook on life, I’m so glad you started a blog. Also, runner’s high, undeniable real and indescribable to anyone who hates running.

  2. Ahh I love runner’s highs 🙂 Definitely can’t get it as good during, say, a spin class or a bout on the elliptical.

  3. Ripp says:

    crackhole? what would your Grandmothers say? I know… the shock and entertainment value…

Leave a Comment

