Happy Birthday LifesLemons!!

Happy Birthday LifesLemons…I baked you a cake!

It’s pineapple-upside down cake, your favorite!

Okay, let’s be real.  I can’t be sure that it’s your favorite because I’ve never baked you a cake before.  Your actual birth date was last week, on April 9th.  I’m a week late, I’m aware but I was too busy to celebrate your birthday last week LifesLemons, you understand.  I’m totally making up for it now.

Let’s be real again.  It was only a boxed mix. Still….that’s love!  Come on…who really bakes their blog a cake for it’s birthday?  It’s got to account for something that I even used a steak knife to whittle a bamboo spoon to the diameter of a toothpick so that I could stick it in the center of your cake (to see if it was done cooking) and spare the wooden”Happy Birthday” candles for the end presentation.  That’s love.  That’s dedication.  I almost cut off my thumb!

Let’s be real…again.  It’s going to be delicious.  Your birthday (and cake) is so significant, in fact, that I’m going to mention LifesLemons in my Food, Nutrition and Dietetics Club board election speech tomorrow and offer the cake as bribe to make me a more appealing Public Relations Rep. candidate.  Cool huh?  Hopefully, if they’re not impressed by my ability to keep a blog alive for 365+ days, they can at least appreciate the fact that I can turn a box of flour into cake.

Let’s be real…….again.  Sometimes I worry that I’ll run out of things to say on LifesLemons.  I worry that my motivation/drive to write (which is currently derived from only God knows where) will cease to exist as we know it and an occasional publish will become monthly or worse.  I suppose we can always talk about how I deliberately “rescue” “Quasimoto” potatoes from supermarket produce bins because I feel that I may be the only person who will love them as they are before they spoil.  Stories like that should keep readers entertained for a while.

As long as we’re being real LifesLemons, you must know that you’ve become what I had intended; a “calming and creative outlet for me.”  You are a place for me to “write for my own enjoyment and for any others that are bored enough to glance into my life.” I truly wish that I had more time to do so.  I smile to myself as I watch you grow by adding to your pages, one post at a time.  It brightens my day and if we’re lucky… someone else’s.

Let’s be real one last time LifesLemons and discuss your cake.  It won’t make it to FND Club elections tomorrow.  Heck, it probably won’t even make it out of the house.  In fact, it’s partially gone as I finish this post and it will likely be crumbs on the counter by morning.  Happy Birthday anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday LifesLemons!!

  1. Pingback: Crafty Concoctions | Life's Lemons

  2. Pingback: Cheap Therapy Part II; Becoming Consumed | Life's Lemons

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday Life’s Lemons | Life's Lemons

Leave a Comment

